Department of Electronic Engineering

The Department of Electronic Engineering is one of the five academic departments under the School of Electronic and Optical Engineering, and is mainly engaged in the teaching and research on electronic, information, and communication engineering. Presently, the department has 25 faculty members, including 8 full professors (6 of them are PhD advisors) and 7 associate professors.


After 60 years of development, the department has built strong competences in the areas of signal analysis and processing, radar system and signal processing, electronic system analysis and design. Each year the department receives more than 30 national and provincial research projects with the total grants of about 10 millions RMB. In the recent 5 years, the department has won 5 ministerial and state-level Scientific and Technological Progress Awards, published more than 300 research papers (more than 200 of them were indexed by SCI and EI) and 6 books, and was granted more than 30 invention patents.

The B.Eng Programme on Electronic Information Engineering in the department is a national-level featured programme, the M.S. and PhD Programme on Information and Communication Engineering is a Provincial-Level key programme. Each year, the department enrolls about 150 undergraduate students and 80 graduate students (including 15 PhD students).

The department has built long-term academic and research collaborations with many reputable overseas universities and research institutes in the United States, Germany, France, Singapore and Hong Kong. Each year the department sends more than 30 faculty members for overseas universities/institutes visits and also hosts a number of overseas visitors for academic exchange.

The history of the Department of Electronic Engineering

1953 – 1985:

Division of Radar

1986 – 2006:

Division of Electronic Engineering (Incorporated with the Division of Signal and Information 

Processing in 1993 and the Division of Wireless Technology Application in 2003)

2006 – present:

Department of Electronic Engineering