Alumnus Lu Ke elected foreign academician of NAE

Updated: February 8th, 2018 

On February 7th in the USA, the website of National Academy of Engineering (NAE) released the list of elected academicians of 2018. Lu Ke, the alumnus of NJUST, was elected NAE membership, which honored his outstanding contributions to nanotwin materials and nanostructured materials. After elected as the academician of the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) in 2004 and German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in 2005, Lu Ke obtained the honor in a foreign country again.


In 1981, Lu Ke was enrolled in School of Mechanical Engineering of NJUST. Four years learning laid a solid foundation for his future study and research.


In 1985, he was admitted to the Institute of Metal Research of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), which is a sky-rocketing take-off in his academic career.


In 1990, he received a doctor's degree at the Institute of Metals Research of CAS. He was awarded the first Special Scholarship for the Dean of CAS for his outstanding achievements in the crystallization kinetics and microscopic mechanism of amorphous metals during this period.


At the age of 28, he was hired as a researcher at CAS, becoming the youngest senior scientific and technological talent in the Chinese material industry.


At the age of 30, he became a doctoral tutor, and won the “Outstanding Young Scholar Award” from Qiushi Science & Technologies Foundation.


Lu Ke became the director of the State Key Laboratory at the age of 32 and became the director of the Institute of Metal Research of CAS when he was 36. He was elected as an academician of CAS at 38, elected to the membership of TWAS at 39 and of German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina at 40. At the age of 41, Lu became the first Chinese review editor of Science, and was elected among the first six members of “National special support program for high-level personnel recruitment” at 48.


The other awards he won include Humboldt Research Award of Germany, the Gold Medal of ISMANAM, TWAS Prize, TWNSO Prize, Akashi Hashimoto Foundation Award, Young Scientist Award of China, Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation Award, China Youth Award, etc.