Successful Launch Ceremony for International Conference on Mechanical System Dynamics (ICMSD) held at NJUST

The launching ceremony of the Permanent ICMSD, which was jointly organized by 20 universities from 10 countries, including NJUST, Peking University, Tsinghua University, McGill University, University of Aberdeen, University of Siegen among otherswas successfully held on July 10th, 2021, in the Sports Center of Nanjing University of Science and Technology (NJUST).

More than 200 guests from more than 90 institutions attended the event, including 26 academicians from the CAS or CAE, 4 foreign academicians, relevant leaders from the Ministry of Education, the Chinese Association for Science and Technology, as well as Jiangsu Province and Nanjing, etc.

During the ceremony, the academician Daining Fang, Chairman of the International Association of Applied Mechanics (IAAM) and the Chinese Society of Mechanics (CSM) delivered a live speech. He pointed out the significance and value of mechanical system dynamics in many industrial fields and his firm belief that Permanent ICMSD will be an important impetus to the development and international cooperation in this field.  

Academician from the Russian Academy of Sciences and the former president of the German Society for Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, Professor Friedrich Pfeiffer from TUM delivered a live speechvia video link for the ceremony. He expressed his belief that mechanical systems dynamics is a broad and increasingly important field and that he is certain that the Standing International Conference will go from strength to strength in the future. Following on from this, academician Xiaoting Rui, together with other academicians which included Jin Duan, Dongxu Li, Yican Wu, Jinwu Xiang, Zhizhen Ye, and Meifang Zhu mounted the stage together to press the start button for the launch video. The promotional video brought the launch ceremony for the Standing ICMSD to a successful conclusion.

Academician Daining Fang, President of International Association of Applied Mechanics (IAAM) and Chinese Society of Mechanics, delivering his speech.

Professor Friedrich Pfeiffer of Technical University of Munich, Foreign Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences and Former President of the German Society for Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, delivering his speech via video link.

The official Launching ceremony underway for the Permanent International Conference on Mechanical Systems Dynamics

International Conference on Mechanical System Dynamics (ICMSD)

NJUST has jointly initiated and co-sponsored the ICMSD with more than 20 well-known domestic and foreign universities from more than 10 countries. Currently, the standing steering committee of the conference consists of 34 world famous scientists including 14 academicians from 11 countries, 13 editors-in-chief of international journals, and 12 chairpersons of international societies. The headquarters is located at NJUST, and future international conferences will be held in different countries in rotation.

The first ICMSD will be held from November 23 to 29, 2021 in Nanjing, China, hosted by NJUST, International Association of Applied Mechanics, Chinese Society of Mechanics, WILEY Publishing Group, Chinese Society of Launch Dynamics (in preparation) and International Journal of Mechanical System Dynamics, co-hosted by 24 universities and research institutes such as Tsinghua University, Peking University, Zhejiang University, Xi’an Institute of Modern Chemistry, the Key Laboratory of Complex Equipment System Dynamics of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, and the Institute of Mechanics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, etc..

The conference chairman is Academician Xiaoting Rui from NJUST. The co-chairmen are as follows:

Professor Aki Mikkola from Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland;

Academician Marco Amabili from McGill University, Canada;

Academician Seung-Bok Choi from the State University of New York (SUNY Korea), Korea;

Academician Tianshou Zhao from Hong Kong University of Science and Technology;

Academician Yonggang Huang from Northwest University, USA.

Academician Xiaoting Rui, Professor Aki Mikkola, Academician Haiyan Hu, and Academician Marco Amabili will give plenary speeches. Prof. Wanlin Guo, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Prof. Pol D Spanos, Academician of the American Academy of Engineering, Prof. Chuanzeng Zhang, Academician of the European Academy of Sciences, Prof. Marian Wiercigroch, Academician of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and Prof. George Z.H. Zhu, Academician of Engineering, Canada and another 9 experts from 7 countries will give keynote lectures.